[cfe-dev] A New Flang - Interactive Code Review and Design Discussion

C Bergström via cfe-dev cfe-dev at lists.llvm.org
Mon Jul 2 09:38:04 PDT 2018


If I join the call can I laugh and say I "told ya so" or is that
insensitive and too soon?

Oh well. sucks I wasn't actually able to help in developing a Fortran fe
for clang. Gotta love corporate sabotage backed by government .....

/me hides

On Tue, Jul 3, 2018 at 12:28 AM, Hal Finkel via cfe-dev <
cfe-dev at lists.llvm.org> wrote:

> Quick reminder: The first of these calls starts in 30 minutes.
>
> If you missed the information on how to join, see:
> http://lists.llvm.org/pipermail/cfe-dev/2018-June/058314.html
>
>  -Hal
>
> On 06/22/2018 03:44 PM, Hal Finkel wrote:
> > On 06/15/2018 06:46 AM, Hal Finkel wrote:
> >> Hi again,
> >>
> >> Based on the previous poll, we'll hold the webinar either on June 25,
> >> July 2, July 9, or July 11.
> >>
> >> Please fill out the following poll so that we can pick an exact time for
> >> the webinar (as soon as you can):
> >>
> >>   https://doodle.com/poll/4qstmakgw3fykuf4
> > Based on the current poll results, I'm recommending that we pick two
> > times for the webinar:
> >
> > Monday, July 2. 12-1pm CDT / 10-11am PDT / 6-7pm BST.
> >
> > Wednesday, July 11. 11-12pm CDT / 9-10am PDT / 5-6pm BST.
> >
> > It looks like the first time is more convenient for those on the west
> > coast of the US and the second time is nearly the most-popular selection
> > (and perhaps slightly more convenient for those in Europe).
> >
> > Thanks again,
> > Hal
> >
> >> Thanks,
> >>
> >> Hal
> >>
> >>
> >> On 05/30/2018 12:37 PM, Hal Finkel wrote:
> >>> Hi everyone!
> >>>
> >>> The team developing Flang (https://github.com/flang-compiler/flang),
> an
> >>> LLVM frontend for Fortran, has been working diligently at improving the
> >>> existing code base, adding new features, etc. However, while this is
> >>> delivering a production-quality frontend, it is clear that the
> >>> incremental evolution of the existing C code base likely won't get us
> to
> >>> a "Clang for Fortran" for several reasons. What we want is a frontend
> >>> for Fortran that, like Clang, is suitable for both tooling and
> >>> traditional compilation, written in modern C++ making use of LLVM
> >>> support classes as appropriate, and otherwise takes advantage of the
> >>> collective frontend-development experience of the LLVM community. To
> >>> address this desire, as announced briefly at EuroLLVM, the NVIDIA team
> >>> has started working on a ground-up rewrite of Flang, and would like to
> >>> present their current progress to the community, explain how
> >>> peculiarities of Fortran have influenced the current experimental
> >>> design, and get feedback from the community early in the development
> >>> process.
> >>>
> >>> As a result, we'd like to schedule a one-hour interactive webinar,
> where
> >>> NVIDIA can present their current progress and get feedback from the
> >>> community. To those of you who are contributors to any part of Clang,
> >>> your participation is specifically requested. I'm going to try to
> >>> schedule this in two parts, first by picking some candidate days, and
> >>> then picking a time from that set of candidate days. If you're
> >>> interested in joining, please fill out this Doodle poll:
> >>>
> >>> https://doodle.com/poll/mxvu5abtevs5zsv7
> >>>
> >>> It contains days from the weeks of June 25, July 2, and July 9. One
> week
> >>> from today, on June 6th, I'll plan to make a new poll with times based
> >>> on candidate days from this poll.
> >>>
> >>> A link to the repository with the new code will be sent out before the
> >>> webinar. NVIDIA intends to record the meeting for the benefit of those
> >>> not able to participate in person.
> >>>
> >>> Thanks again,
> >>> Hal
> >>>
> >>> P.S. If you want to have a technical discussion about Flang itself,
> >>> please use the flang-dev mailing list
> >>> (http://lists.flang-compiler.org/mailman/listinfo), not this one. I'm
> >>> posting here only to reach Clang contributors. The goal is to create a
> >>> Fortran frontend that might eventually be accepted as a formal part of
> >>> the LLVM project.
> >>>
>
> --
> Hal Finkel
> Lead, Compiler Technology and Programming Languages
> Leadership Computing Facility
> Argonne National Laboratory
>
> _______________________________________________
> cfe-dev mailing list
> cfe-dev at lists.llvm.org
> http://lists.llvm.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/cfe-dev
>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.llvm.org/pipermail/cfe-dev/attachments/20180703/42d3d8c1/attachment-0001.html>


More information about the cfe-dev mailing list