[cfe-dev] A New Flang - Interactive Code Review and Design Discussion

Hal Finkel via cfe-dev cfe-dev at lists.llvm.org
Mon Jul 2 09:28:28 PDT 2018


Quick reminder: The first of these calls starts in 30 minutes.

If you missed the information on how to join, see:
http://lists.llvm.org/pipermail/cfe-dev/2018-June/058314.html

 -Hal

On 06/22/2018 03:44 PM, Hal Finkel wrote:
> On 06/15/2018 06:46 AM, Hal Finkel wrote:
>> Hi again,
>>
>> Based on the previous poll, we'll hold the webinar either on June 25,
>> July 2, July 9, or July 11.
>>
>> Please fill out the following poll so that we can pick an exact time for
>> the webinar (as soon as you can):
>>
>>   https://doodle.com/poll/4qstmakgw3fykuf4
> Based on the current poll results, I'm recommending that we pick two
> times for the webinar:
>
> Monday, July 2. 12-1pm CDT / 10-11am PDT / 6-7pm BST.
>
> Wednesday, July 11. 11-12pm CDT / 9-10am PDT / 5-6pm BST.
>
> It looks like the first time is more convenient for those on the west
> coast of the US and the second time is nearly the most-popular selection
> (and perhaps slightly more convenient for those in Europe).
>
> Thanks again,
> Hal
>
>> Thanks,
>>
>> Hal
>>
>>
>> On 05/30/2018 12:37 PM, Hal Finkel wrote:
>>> Hi everyone!
>>>
>>> The team developing Flang (https://github.com/flang-compiler/flang), an
>>> LLVM frontend for Fortran, has been working diligently at improving the
>>> existing code base, adding new features, etc. However, while this is
>>> delivering a production-quality frontend, it is clear that the
>>> incremental evolution of the existing C code base likely won't get us to
>>> a "Clang for Fortran" for several reasons. What we want is a frontend
>>> for Fortran that, like Clang, is suitable for both tooling and
>>> traditional compilation, written in modern C++ making use of LLVM
>>> support classes as appropriate, and otherwise takes advantage of the
>>> collective frontend-development experience of the LLVM community. To
>>> address this desire, as announced briefly at EuroLLVM, the NVIDIA team
>>> has started working on a ground-up rewrite of Flang, and would like to
>>> present their current progress to the community, explain how
>>> peculiarities of Fortran have influenced the current experimental
>>> design, and get feedback from the community early in the development
>>> process.
>>>
>>> As a result, we'd like to schedule a one-hour interactive webinar, where
>>> NVIDIA can present their current progress and get feedback from the
>>> community. To those of you who are contributors to any part of Clang,
>>> your participation is specifically requested. I'm going to try to
>>> schedule this in two parts, first by picking some candidate days, and
>>> then picking a time from that set of candidate days. If you're
>>> interested in joining, please fill out this Doodle poll:
>>>
>>> https://doodle.com/poll/mxvu5abtevs5zsv7
>>>
>>> It contains days from the weeks of June 25, July 2, and July 9. One week
>>> from today, on June 6th, I'll plan to make a new poll with times based
>>> on candidate days from this poll.
>>>
>>> A link to the repository with the new code will be sent out before the
>>> webinar. NVIDIA intends to record the meeting for the benefit of those
>>> not able to participate in person.
>>>
>>> Thanks again,
>>> Hal
>>>
>>> P.S. If you want to have a technical discussion about Flang itself,
>>> please use the flang-dev mailing list
>>> (http://lists.flang-compiler.org/mailman/listinfo), not this one. I'm
>>> posting here only to reach Clang contributors. The goal is to create a
>>> Fortran frontend that might eventually be accepted as a formal part of
>>> the LLVM project.
>>>

-- 
Hal Finkel
Lead, Compiler Technology and Programming Languages
Leadership Computing Facility
Argonne National Laboratory



More information about the cfe-dev mailing list